Golden Eagles Fly to First Victory

The Tyrone Golden Eagle wrestling team got their first victory on December 17th against the Penns Valley Rams. Tyrone’s three pins led them to the 39-32 win.

To start off the night, junior Alex Weaver received a forfeit at 182.

In the next match, sophomore Jason Barr pinned Penns Valley’s Caelob Packer at the 1:57 mark.

Sophomore Kaleb Miles and Junior Parker Allen also received forfeits, boosting the team score to 24-0.

Freshman Korry Walls beat Penns Valley’s Chase Fleshman 6-3. Walls took down Fleshman in the first period, followed by Fleshman getting a two-point reversal. To start the second period, Fleshman chose down and quickly escaped. Walls then got another takedown and rode him out the rest of the period. Leading 4-3, Walls chose neutral at the beginning of the third period and earned one final takedown, making the final score 6-3 and earning three team points.

Junior Hunter Walk gave the team six more points from his one-minute twenty-second pin.

Sophomore Ashton Sipes lost 12-10 in sudden victory overtime to Penns Valley’s Justin Darlington. Sipes was leading the match 9-5 until the end of the second period. In the third period, Darlington outscored Sipes 5-1 and took down Sipes in sudden victory to win.

Senior Mason Walls scored the last points for Tyrone when he pinned Penns Valley’s Noah Fetterolf in 53 seconds.

Tyrone’s only forfeit was at 138, making the team score 39-9. Sophomore Gavin Frazell got tech-falled by Penns Valleys Clayton Royer, followed by three Penns Valley pins to end the match with the final score 39-32, Tyrone.

Tyrone’s next match is home on December 19th against the Hollidaysburg Golden Tigers.

Match Stats

182 – Alex Weaver won by forfeit (6-0)

195 – Jason Barr pinned Caelob Packer, 1:57 (12-0)

220 – Kaleb Miles won by forfeit (18-0)

285 – Parker Allen won by forfeit (24-0)

106 – Korry Walls dec. Chase Fleshman, 6-3 (27-0)

113 – No match (27-0)

120 – Hunter Walk pinned Hayden Yearick, 1:20 (33-0)

126 – Justin Darlington dec. Ashton Sipes, 12-10 (33-3)

132 – Mason Walls pinned Noah Fetterolf, 0:53 (39-3)

138 – Malachi Thompson won by forfeit (39-9)

145 – Clayton Royer won by tech. fall over Gavin Frazell, 18-3 1:44 (39-14)

152 – Micah Fetterolf pinned Dominick Maloney, 3:36 (39-20)

160 – Malachi Duvall pinned Jermaine Myers, 1:11 (39-26)

170 – Dristen Wolfe pinned Dean Grassi, 1:36 (39-32)

Tyrone wrestlers in bold.